Country Profile: Bermuda

This Country Profile provides a basic overview of the legal history and institutional structures of Bermuda, based on research produced by GlobaLex at NYU Law School and the Library of Congress. Under Bermuda’s Constitution, Islamic law (sharīʿa or fiqh) has no legal status.

Country Background

Bermuda is a group of islands in the North Atlantic Ocean, east of South Carolina (United States). The capital of Bermuda is Hamilton. The official language is English. The country’s population in 2016 was approximately 70,000. Bermuda is a predominantly Christian country, with about 46% of the population Protestant and 15% Roman Catholic.

Constitution & Legal Structure

Bermuda is referred to as a constitutional democracy or a parliamentary republic, in which the sovereignty belongs to the people and the Constitution is the supreme law of the land, adopted by popular referendum in 1998. The system of government is based on principles of separation and checks and balances and has three branches: legislative, executive, and judicial.

Constitutional Status of Islamic Law

Islamic law has no constitutional status in Bermuda.

Jurisdiction(s) of Islamic Law

Islamic law has no official jurisdiction of operation in Bermuda.

Dominant School of Islamic Law

Bermuda has no official school of Islamic law.

Sources of Law for Legal Research

Official Publications

 Unofficial Databases


For an extended list of legal resources for this country, see the Library of Congress’s Research Guide, and for a narrative review, see the GlobaLex Foreign Law Research Guide (most updated version, where available). The Constitution is available directly on the government portal. For full versions of past constitutions, amendments, and related legislation, see Oxford Constitutions of the World [subscription required].